Vitamin D: Islamic Ruling on 50,000 IU Capsules

Question: I am very deficient in vitamin D3. I was prescribed a 6-week course of one gel capsule of Vitamin D 50,000 IU weekly.  My concern is that typically gel capsules are made from gelatin. I want to know if this specific medicine would be okay for me to take and whether it is common to have pork-sourced gelatin. Answer: Bismihi taʻālā Patients with Vitamin D deficiency are often prescribed capsules that contain 50,000 international units (IU). These prescription capsules contain gelatin, which is impermissible to consume, because it is sourced from pork or non-Islamically slaughtered animals.[i]  According to the … Continue reading Vitamin D: Islamic Ruling on 50,000 IU Capsules

Vitamin D

Question: Vitamin D is commonly derived from sheep wool.  Is this halal to consume? Answer: Bismihi Ta’ala Vitamin D supplements are available in two forms, D2 (ergocalciferol) and D3 (cholecalciferol). Vitamin D2 is manufactured by the UV irradiation of ergosterol in yeast, while vitamin D3 is traditionally manufactured by the irradiation of 7-dehydrocholesterol from lanolin and the chemical conversion of cholesterol. Plant-based sources for vitamin D3 are also now available. Lanolin is extracted from the wool of sheep. Can Muslims consume vitamin D supplements that are derived from lanolin? Sheep wool is considered to be pure, therefore the topical use and … Continue reading Vitamin D